How to Delete a Linked Instagram Account (An Ultimate Guide)

Do you want to unlink one of your Instagram accounts from the Instagram app? If yes, then you have landed on the right page, because this article is all about “How to delete a linked Instagram account?

Key Takeaways:

  • Instagram now allows its users to add or link up to 5 different Instagram accounts on the app for smooth switching between multiple accounts. 
  • If you own multiple Instagram handles, then just add them to the list for instant and one-tap access. 
  • Although the Instagram app limits you to add only up to 5 Instagram accounts at a time. So, if you wish to add a 6th Instagram account, then you have to delete/unlink a previous account from the app.
  • To be on the safe side, always download your Instagram data before deleting it permanently.
  • You can delete a linked Instagram account by logging out of all your accounts and then tapping on the three-dotted menu (Android), or on the edit option (iPhone) to remove it.
  • If you want to delete your Instagram account permanently, then you need to access the “Delete account” option in the settings menu of the app (on iPhone), or through the Instagram web version (on android or PC).

How to delete a linked Instagram account?

Instagram has improved a lot in terms of features since its inception, and due to this improvement, many influencers or businesses have started using this platform to their advantage. 

Not just that, many users create multiple Instagram accounts due to different niches, and then link them to the app for easy one-tap access. 

However, due to the app limitations, users can only link up to 5 different accounts.

So, if you wish to add another account, then you might have to delete a previous one.

But how? 

Well, to delete a linked Instagram account using your Instagram app, all you need to do is log out from all the accounts by accessing the “Settings” menu, and then tapping on “Log out of all accounts.” After that, tap on the three-dotted vertical menu (on Android), or on the “Edit” option followed by the “x” sign to remove it.

Want a step-by-step tutorial?

No problem, just follow the next part.

How to delete/unlink a linked Instagram account (A step-by-step tutorial):

As mentioned above, the steps for this process vary on Android and iPhone.

So, to make it easier for you, they have been further divided into two groups.

On Android:

  • Firstly, open your Instagram app.
  • Now, tap on the profile icon visible at the bottom right corner of the screen.
Tap Instagram Profile Icon
Tap Instagram Profile Icon
  • Then, tap on the “Hamburger” menu.
Tap Hamburger Menu
Tap Hamburger Menu
  • Next, tap on the “Settings” menu.
Tap settings option
Tap settings option
  • Now, scroll down to the end of the page to find the “Log out all accounts” option.
Click Log out of all accounts
Click Log out of all accounts
  • Tap on it.
  • You will be logged out of every single Instagram account you have added to the list.
  • Now, you will see the list of accounts.
  • Next, tap on the “three-dotted” vertical line menu beside that account.
Tap three dotted menu against account
Tap three dotted menu against account
  • A “Remove account” pop-up will appear on the screen asking for your confirmation.
  • Tap on the blue “Remove” option to delete the linked Instagram account from the app.
Click Remove option to delete Instagram account
Click Remove option to delete Instagram account

On iPhone:

  • Open the Instagram app on your iPhone.
  • Now, tap on your profile picture visible at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  • This will take you to your Instagram profile page.
  • Then, tap on the “Hamburger” menu visible at the top right corner of the screen.
  • Next, tap on the “Settings” menu.
  • After that, scroll to the bottom of the settings page to find the “Logout” option.
  • Tap on it.
  • Now, you will get a list of the accounts that are linked to the app. 
  • Select all the accounts.
  • Then, tap on the “Log out” option.
  • A confirmation pop-up that says “Log out of all accounts?” will appear.
  • Tap on “Log out.”
  • You will now be logged out of all your Instagram accounts.
  • Now, tap on the “Edit” option that is visible in the middle of the screen.
  • You will be able to see the “x” icon beside each Instagram account.
  • Tap on the “x” icon that is next to that particular Instagram account. 
  • Now, a pop-up window will appear, so tap on “Remove.”
  • Lastly, tap on “Done Editing” or “Finished Editing.”

You have successfully deleted your linked Instagram account from both Android and iPhone.

However, if you want to delete your Instagram account permanently from the platform,

then you need to go a step further and follow the instructions that are mentioned below.

How to delete your Instagram accounts permanently?

If you have decided that you no longer want to continue with one of your Instagram accounts due to any reason,

then you can easily delete it by following these steps.

But, before we get started, one thing that users should keep in mind, direct account deletion from the app is only available for iPhone users.

So, if you are a non-iPhone user, then you have to follow some extra steps.

For your better understanding, the process has been divided into three categories;

On iPhone, on a mobile browser, and on a computer.

Deleting your Instagram account using your iPhone:

  • Open your Instagram app.
  • Now, tap on your profile picture that is visible at the bottom right corner of the screen.
  • You will now land on your profile page.
  • Next, tap on the “Hamburger” menu visible at the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  • Then, tap on “Settings” (the gear icon).
  • After that, tap on “Account.”
  • Now, tap on the “Delete account” option visible at the bottom.
  • Next, tap “Delete account” followed by the “Continue deleting account” option.
  • You will now get a drop-down menu that will ask you “Why do you want to delete x account?”
  • Select one that suits your situation.
  • Now, re-enter your password.
  • Then, tap on “Delete (username).”
  • Lastly, tap on “OK” to confirm, and that’s it, your Instagram account deletion process has begun.

Deleting your Instagram account permanently using a mobile browser:

  • Open your mobile browser.
  • Now, either search for “how to delete Instagram account permanently” and then tap on the first link, or just tap on this link.
  • Then, you will be asked to login into your account, if you haven’t. 
  • Next, you will get a drop-down menu and a short question asking you “Why do you want to delete x account?”
Reason to delete the account
Reason to delete the account
  • Select, the option that suits your situation.
  • Now, re-enter your password.
Re-enter your password to delete the account
Re-enter your password to delete the account
  • Lastly, tap on “Delete (username).”
Click Delete Username to proceed
Click Delete Username to proceed
  • That’s it, your Instagram account deletion process has now been initiated.

Deleting Instagram account permanently using a computer:

  • Open your computer’s browser.
  • Now, either do a Google search on “how to delete Instagram account” and then click on the first link, or just click on this link.
  • Next, you will be asked to login into your account, if you haven’t.
  • After that, you will get a drop-down menu along with a short question that says, “Why do you want to delete x account?
Reason to delete the account on desktop
Reason to delete the account on desktop
  • Select an appropriate answer according to your situation.
  • Now, you will be asked to re-enter your password. So, do the needful.
Re-enter your password to delete your Instagram account
Re-enter your password to delete your Instagram account
  • Lastly, click the “Delete (username)” option. 
Tap Delete Username to proceed
Tap Delete Username to proceed
  • The process of Instagram account deletion has now been executed successfully.

Note: The process of account deletion may take up to 30 to 90 days, so if you find your username on the platform, don’t panic, and wait for the said period of time.

Additionally, according to Instagram’s “Privacy Policy” the copy of your virtual data will remain on their server even after 90 days, as they will use it in the event of a disaster, software error, legal issues, terms violation, harm prevention efforts, or other data loss event.

Final Remarks on “How to delete linked Instagram account?”

If you are handling two to five Instagram accounts simultaneously,

then linking all of them to the app can be more beneficial.

Plus it will also save you from constantly logging into individual accounts.

However, if you feel like you want to delete a linked account from the app,

then all you need to do is follow this simple guide and unlink that account successfully.

Author

Leave a Comment